The adventure of becoming a "real" writer.

Do I have any chance to succeed as a writer?

Before placing your bets, I have to be honest. Here are my pros and cons.

Pros:

I love to write. I want to write. Some people even say I have talent.

Cons:

1. English language

English is not my native language. I’m so afraid not to make mistakes that it keeps me back. I’m a “grammar nazi” when it comes to my native language, what on earth will I do when an English grammar nazi will bump into my writings? The thought of it makes me shiver!

(I know, you would ask why I don’t write in my language. Because the publishing industry is so small that is almost invisible in my country; because writing is considered a caprice and it will never ever pay your bills; because there are no writing competitions – or they are but nobody knows about them… and so on).

2. The job

I have a challenging job. It is interesting, well paid and I adore it for these reasons. But it is also time-consuming and – even more important – energy-consuming. After 8 hours at work (or ten, or twelve…) I barely know my own name. Most of the time, the  most challenging “intellectual” activity I can do after work is shooting bubbles in some childish online game.

3. My connections

Networking is important. At least that’s what they say in every article you can read about a writer’s life.  I know… nobody. I don’t event know who should I know!

4. My quiet writing space and time

It doesn’t exist. I am almost never home alone. I don’t know what “enjoy the silence” means. My ideas are striving every moment to get above the noises around. The worst part is that sometimes they even fight each other!

So… anyone dares to bet on me?

Comments on: "From zero to hero? Let the gambling begin!" (6)

  1. I do. When you want something bad enough– you’ll make it work. Let those obstacles fuel you instead of hold you back.

  2. Is there someplace I can read one of your stories?

    • No, not in English. I’m not that confident about my English (yet!) but when I’ll gain some courage I’ll probably post some of my stories here. One of the reasons I started this blog is that I want to see if I can write in English and if people understand what I mean. :))

      • Okay. I read all your posts, and it seems like you write English very well to me. I was curious because of the stuff you said about always having stories in your head. I’m like that. I never thought I was a writer, in fact it’s really emotionally challenging for me, but the stories are there and they want to be written.

      • Thanks. 🙂

        I guess that when you start being really upset that no matter what else in your live is stopping you from writing as much as you’d like, you also start thinking that maybe you are writer more than anything else. Or maybe it doesn’t even matter if you or the others are thinking about you as a writer, as long as your stories are written. 🙂

Leave a comment